Butter Chicken Stupor

I have an accounting assignment that I’m just not getting… I’ve tried it three or four different ways, but it’s just not working out. I worked on it for 3 hours today and have finally taken a dinner break. My aunt made butter chicken and I filled my plate and headed back down to my Bat Cave. As I was waiting for it to cool enough to eat, I cracked open Facebook and stumbled across my (dad’s) cousin Jen’s awesome blog! Reading it, I completely forgot about the plate of food under my nose. After reading her entry, I notice that only 5 minutes have gone by; it felt like 20. I also realised that, although I’d forgotten about my food, I was fully aware of its scent.

Too often, I find myself so immersed in something that I forget about the task at hand, forget about time restrictions and kick myself for it later. Tonight, it will be that I read (and posted) a blog entry instead of eating dinner and getting ready. I have 15 minutes and still need to eat and change. Yet I’m typing. I’m doing it because I have a thought in my head that I don’t want to lose.

—-

I went to youth and had this exact conversation with someone there. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in something and miss what’s going on. When I was 12, my stepbrother had to babysit me while everyone went out. I was fully submerged in the world of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and didn’t notice when Sterling fully picked me up and carried me into the kitchen, put a block of cheese in my hand and took me back to the couch. His friend, now a filmmaker, filmed the whole thing and played it back for me when they finally caught my attention. They had to pull the book from my hands. I had no idea where this block of cheese had come from, nor did I understand why I was eating it like that. I was 100% oblivious to being moved physically because I was so preoccupied with something else. The reason Sterling had to carry me was because I’d gotten the book 12 hours earlier and still hadn’t eaten a single thing. Our parents told him he had to get me to eat while they were out and he wasn’t about to let me starve — not sure why, but that’s a different story. The point is, I was so involved with something else that I put off something as basic and important as eating, all the while fully knowing I needed to ingest something.

I’ve decided to call this “Butter Chicken Stupor”. It applies to anything your subconscious is trying to tell you, but you ignore because you’re in that “I’m busy” haze. It’s typical Lindsay, for sure.

Leave a Reply

